Working with BPD and AVPD (Tips)

Here are some of the things that have helped me at work

  • Have a routine- try to start and finish at the same time every day. If the mood swings are very frequent this would bring a semblance of normalcy to your days.
  • Talk to your boss- It has helped me greatly that my boss knows about my BPD. It does not mean he will tolerate if I slack off at work but, he has been asking questions to understand my triggers and symptoms and has generally tried to make the office environment more inclusive. Share only if you are comfortable
  • eg: If you are uncomfortable bringing out your ideas in a group discussion format try to think of an alternative that would work for you and tell your boss about it, chances are, you are not the only person with that problem.
  • Take each day as it comes- let us face some days are going to be shitty, it is okay. Let it be
  • Make a safe space- If you have an office room, try to put up some pictures on the wall or spruce it up with some DIY decor that appeals to you, if your work space is a desk maybe you can keep some framed pictures of your loved ones.
  • Leave some distress tolerance tools- Keep some things around that could help you in overwhelming situations. I keep an ice pack in the office refrigerator, a small vial of lavender oil (the strong smell gives me a distraction), a red marker and white paper because, see picture below.
  • 2016-08-23 10.47.55

Suggestions: Stress relief balls, rubberbands

  • Taking walks- If you think it is inappropriate to go outside, just a 5-minute stroll in the corridor?
  • Take time to have a proper lunch- It is better not to eat at your work table. If going with colleagues for lunch is too overwhelming, try looking for a place where you can relax and eat in peace
  • Find what works for you- Concentration is hard to come by sometimes. So I try toΒ  break down working hours into small chunks of 1.5 hours. After every 1.5 hours, I read a WordPress post or read few pages of a book or journal a bit or just get up and stretch.
  • It takes an average person about 23 minutes to focus again once distracted, so try to leave your phone away and all the mail notifications off while working. They will only make work more difficult
  • Tackling the open office- I honestly hope you don’t have to work in one but if you are then it is essential to have a spaceΒ (worst case scenario, bathroom?) where you can sit and unwind.
  • Don’t be intimidated by others work routine. They don’t know your struggle and you don’t know theirs (most probably).
  • Keep a journal, track your distraction triggers.

 

What are the things that help you at work?

–Jo

7 thoughts on “Working with BPD and AVPD (Tips)

    1. Glad you liked it πŸ™‚ I think it is a lot of trial and error until we find what works for us and what don’t. Great that you have a self-support system.

      Like

  1. Thanks for this post – I also find having routines the most helpful thing, even if I can hardly cope with myself, working somehow is okay because I know exactly what I’m up to…and having a boss who tries to understand is crucial: For example mine agreed to give me a new place to sit at because at the former one people were always standing behind my back which is a massive trigger for me. Now that I have a wall behind me I can concentrate much better πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to have a part-time job where everyday working hours were different and it did not go well at all, a routine has helped me greatly. Like you said it is a relief knowing what you are exactly up to at least the few hours at work. Oh my, if people were standing behind me I could never concentrate on the job!! Really great that you have an understanding boss and that you have a wall behind you now. I am starting to appreciate my office wall much more now πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Right, I’ve had jobs with “flexible” working times for years and I never realized just how bad that was for me until I got the job I have now – I appreciate it every day.
        πŸ˜€ walls for president πŸ˜‰

        Like

Leave a Reply

