When Depression Comes Knocking

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

Depression:
NONE of us can count on immunity
when life kicks us down

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
A Mental Health Awareness Month Post

Today, the first Thursday of October, is National Depression Screening Day.

I have written relatively little about my own struggles, and don’t intend to focus there. Nor do I consider myself a poet; I rarely share my amateur attempts. However, a brave post by writer Christoph Fischer touched me in a manner that an informational article would not have. I decided to risk pulling back the curtain on a bit of the struggle in my own life for just a moment, hoping that it will touch someone else in a similar manner and encourage them to reach out. 

We are more alike under the skin than we realize.  NONE of us are really alone.

Found HERE

Nethersides of Bell Jars

I have been…

View original post 1,267 more words

5 thoughts on “When Depression Comes Knocking

    1. Your post resonated with me a lot. I started this blog to share my personal struggles with depression and BPD, but these days I am writing anything but that. It is difficult to hit that publish button on many posts. I am afraid of coming across as whiny just like you mentioned. Thank you for writing Madelyn ❤
      xxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I also worry that, as a helping professional, it might be unwise (as many of my colleagues have claimed). Although I firmly believe that we who understand at a visceral level are better “guides” for our clients, sometimes I hear the echoes of those who disagree, which stays my publish finger for a moment.

        I also believe that pretending to be “perfect” is lousy for our own mental health as it presents an unrealistic picture to clients. Life is not easy and human beings have problems!

        I have long been convinced that healing happens with empathy. How can any client really believe we CAN empathize if we hold this “forever strong and whole” picture before them?
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I kind of understand what you are saying. I started a mental health support group here, although I encourage people to share and tell them over and over again that there is no shame, it is difficult to put it into practice for myself. It is not anything close to what you do, but still.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Good for you! Support groups can be life saving – literally. Providing a place where people can feel accepted and at least partially understood is a rare and priceless gift.

            Shame is not exactly the word for what I feel – anger mostly, I suppose: at the cruelty of stigma, at ignorant and unfeeling folks who think it’s okay to make jokes about people who are struggling, at “tough love” advocates — especially at professionals who misunderstand or misinterpret our actions because of their own confirmation bias (the “conflicts, blocks, resistance” or “malingering” folks).

            After seeing so much needless pain and suffering, I think I have come to truly hate the DEA and doctors who under-medicate chronic pain sufferers – prioritizing “the war on drugs” and addiction prevention over the lives of mental health patients and people in pain.

            There is also regret for what might have been if mental health treatment in this country weren’t still so backwards – and fear, mostly about the future. Emotions like that.

            It is certainly embarrassing to imagine what others might think or say if they could see the state of my apartment when I have not been able to manage even the simplest thing some periods of time – or when I’m playing catch up and housework falls to the bottom of a long list – that’s the closest thing to shame that I feel personally.

            More than shame, exactly, many of my clients have felt they needed to try to live “in the closet” for fear of repercussions of various sorts – that they’d be micro-managed or fired, or that they would end up friendless if they didn’t put up a false front and hide out when they could not. They ARE ashamed that they can’t “rise above it” though – that they struggle to manage what “everyone else” seems to be able to do with ease.

            Teens hate to believe that they might be different from the herd, but I’m not sure that’s exactly due to shame as much as the burning desire to fit in they feel at that age. They internalize feelings of shame as a result of shaming comments by their parents and teachers, mostly – and a few of their so-called “friends.” At least that’s what I hear – but it could be because what I do attracts a specific subset.

            Sorry to go on an on. It’s a huge problem with many tendrils. Through blogs like yours (and mine) perhaps we can make some kind of difference. That’s my prayer.
            xx,
            mgh

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

