Would you like to receive a book? (giveaway)

For the first time in my life, I have a salary (scholarship) that lets me save enough money to buy books. In my previous life as a broke student, book buying was a luxury that I couldn’t afford. I relied mainly on overstock sale at the local bookstore and my friends’ bookshelves. Living in a country where English is not the first language made matters a bit more difficult. Although I still rely on the city library  quite a lot, the selection of English books here is limited to classics, bestsellers, and award-winning titles.

‘Book hoarder’ is one of my descriptors but I really would like to try and give books away after reading, one book every month. So if you don’t mind reading a second-hand copy of a book, would you like me to send one for you?

All you have to do is leave a comment here (if you are not a comment leaving sort of person, send me a private message), tell me a bit about yourself and name one of your favorite books. I will keep it open from today until Thursday the 3rd of November, will randomly select one of you by the end and send the book by normal post. You can be living anywhere in the world, there are no restrictions, but it might just take a few days to get to you.

The only qualification you need is to be a book lover 🙂

This month I am going to send The Good Immigrant. Probably some of you might have come across this article on the guardian, which is one of the essays from this book. I read this book last month and simply fell in love with it. This is a non-fiction collection of essays edited by Nikesh Shukla. 21 writers of different ethnicities living in the UK have contributed to this book. I will put an excerpt from the blurb here,

Inspired by discussion around why society appears to deem people of colour as bad immigrants – job stealers, benefit scroungers, undeserving refugees – until, by winning Olympic races or baking good cakes, or being conscientious doctors, they cross over and become good immigrants, editor Nikesh Shukla has compiled a collection of essays that are poignant, challenging, angry, humorous, heartbreaking, polemic, weary and – most importantly– real.

the-good-immigrant

Looking forward to your messages

love,

Jo

PS: published also on my book blog

9 thoughts on “Would you like to receive a book? (giveaway)

  1. Oh my God you’re the best please I want this! Just consider me entered in all your giveaways please xD
    Oh I need to say something about myself? *brain freeze*
    Alright I love love reading books and I’m really trying to grow my home library. I mostly read to take in other cultures and this book seems to give a very good take on what it means to be an immigrant.
    My favorite book is any book my author Khaled Hosseini, particularly “A Thousand Splendid Suns”
    Much love. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha love it! You are officially enrolled for all my future giveaways 😀 I love that book as well , The kite runner broke my heart to pieces. I am sure you will enjoy reading The Good Immigrant then. Love ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great way of sharing the love of reading! We keep a box in our house that we put books in and send them to the library in the city where our son was born. We were there just after the library first opened so it helps keep a connection with people we met and with our son’s home. It is so hard to choose a favorite author. I love the way Sherman Alexie writes unapologetically about what life as a Native American is like today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot Sarah. I know right? Whenever someone asks me about a favorite author I get a brain freeze. Depending on the time of the day that question is asked, my answer varies 😀 That is such a thoughtful way of sharing books. It is great that your son gets to grow up in a world of stories 🙂 I cannot imagine a better childhood

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

