11 random facts about me and an award

Michelle from Forest city Bookworm nominated me for The Sunshine Blogger award and I am super happy. It means a lot coming from a fellow bookworm and it really is reassuring, especially because I have been thinking of shutting the blog down. Thank you so much, Michelle, it means a lot, virtual hugs are on your way.

Here are the rules

– Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
– Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
– Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
– List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

sunshine-award

 

1. What’s the story behind your blog’s name?

Jo is totally not my name, it is not even remotely similar to my real name. I am a pretty insecure writer and hence hiding behind a fake name helps a bit to shush the inner critic. The idea of settling down is very scary for me, I would like to think of having the possibility of a future where I can keep hopping from place to place learning things on the way just like a tumbleweed and hence the name Jo the Tumbleweed 🙂

2. Do you prefer ebooks or physical books?

Hard-bound books, paperbacks, audiobooks, and then e-books. Preference in that order, but anything with words would be okay 😀

3. What’s your ideal pizza?

I hate pizza, sorry but I really do.

4. What’s your favorite childhood book?

I wasn’t a book-loving child, didn’t start reading outside of school until 13. The first book that got me hooked was The Harry potter series,  and it will always be so very special to my heart ❤

5. What cheers you up?

A Gilmore Girls marathon, yellow shoes, and beaches

6. Are you an introvert or/and extrovert? 

Introvert absolutely. All about warm tea, rain, books, cozy couches, and staying in.

7. What’s the last book you read that you simply could not put down until you finished?

The graveyard book. Neil Gaiman is a wizard.

8. If your life was a movie, which actor/actress would play you?

The name of the movie would be The perks of being a wallflower without a doubt but my life  is not at all like Charlie’s and can I get Penelope Cruz to play me? 😀

9. Which is the longest book/anime/TV series you’ve read/watched and how long is it?

Longest book was 1Q84 I guess.

10. If you could eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

There is a layered flatbread  we get in my home state in India, its called porotta-absolutely delicious, pair it with beef stir fried with spices, shallots, and coconut flakes and I am in food heaven.  Not at all a healthy option..but dear God I am hungry now!!

11. What’s your favorite book genre?

Historical fiction, that is how I learn the world. Right now on a WW2 reading spree.

My questions

  1. Where do you feel most at home?
  2. Have you ever read a book and thought “this character is a lot like me”, if yes, which one?
  3. What book are you reading right now?
  4. How are you today?
  5. Tell me one of your favorite songs?
  6. Do you prefer phone calls or texts?
  7. What do you like the most about blogging?
  8. Do you prefer traveling alone or with people?
  9. Is there one specific thing that you are really passionate about or are you curious about a lot of different things?
  10. Tell me one thing that you always wanted to learn but never got a chance to?
  11. What are some things that make you happy?

I am going to nominate five (sorry about breaking the rule) fellow bloggers who inspire me for a variety of different reasons.  I don’t know what your policy on awards is and please don’t feel obligated to accept. Just wanted to tell you how much your blogs mean to me.

The coffee bean brain– I absolutely love this blog. Her writing is really heartfelt, honest, and funny. I am an intuitive reader and most of the times I cannot explain why but her posts resonate with me quite a lot

Kate– Kate supports us newbie bloggers and it is inspiring to see her do that, I have come across a lot of exciting blogs because of her. Thanks Kate

Anam– She is another fellow book nerd. Very young but with a razor sharp worldview, there is an innocence in her writing voice that I simply love.

Nina– Nina’s blog has encouraged me quite a lot to share my struggles with BPD. Her writing is bold but not imposing, she does not shy away from discussing uncomfortable topics and whatever topic she picks, she does so much justice to it.

Vrushali– Another young blogger. Multitalented book-nerd. You should really check out her art on Instagram, it is brilliant.

Thanks again Michelle.

Love

Jo

22 thoughts on “11 random facts about me and an award

  1. Congrats on the award, Jo! I checked out your post looking forward to reading the random facts and was surprised to find my name nominated. Thank you and I’m so touched by your comment. Glad that you can connect to my writing. I have been recently nominated for the same award and have written a post (spreading sunshine) but I would be happy to add up my answers to your questions there. 🙂

    You mentioned about shutting down your blog and I hope you’re not considering it a final decision. It would be sad to see you go. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Brain 🙂 (Is it okay if I call you that?) I had a misunderstanding in the way WP pingbacks worked, thought you would receive a notification when I link your blog, that is why I didn’t let you know by message. Anyway, I am happy that you found it anyway and thanks for accepting it because I really do love your writing. And, I would try to keep writing here as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Last two days were holidays here and hence my week is just starting after a looong weekend. Let us see how it goes. Wish you a good week too 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Hahaha, I just went and read your update. It is so much fun getting to know fellow bloggers like you. It did not go to spam thankfully but anyway I am checking it regularly now. Thanks again Brain 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jo, I enjoyed reading your post and finding out a bit more about you. Thank you so much for nominating me, I was really surprised. I only clicked on ‘Kate’ because it’s my name, I didn’t expect it to actually be for me! It is so kind of you and thank you for your comments. I don’t do awards, but I do appreciate the sentiment. Thanks again Kate :0)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, somehow I assumed when I link your post WordPress will notify you, my mistake, oops! But I also wasn’t sure how you felt about awards, so didn’t want to impose on you either. I really meant the things that I wrote. I am sure a lot of our fellow bloggers would feel the feel same way. It was my pleasure nominating you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

